Lingayen Pangasinan

An encomienda when Pangasinan was created, it was then designated and remains the provincial capital. Lingayen is a 1st class Municipality in the province of Pangasinan. According to the latest census, it has a population of 95,773 people in 16,467 households.Lingayen earned a place in contemporary history when American forces designated it the landing area for the liberation of Northern Luzon from the Japanese. The town is likewise noted for the Limahong Channel which the men of the Chinese pirate dug to elude the pursuing forces of Salcedo. Its "bagoong", also known as maniboc, referring to its place of origin, Barangay Maniboc, is the best in the market, local, national or international.

Lingayen : "liñgayen"

It was auspicious circumstances that brought the Agustinian missionaries to the territory of what is now Lingayen. Together with the Spanish conquistadores they drew up the plan of Lingayen in 1614 after and in accordance with the national pattern and design of staking first the plaza and then to construct the church and the presidencia building on the opposite sides.Lingayen was thus founded and built following the pattern aforesaid as the nucleus. The founders named the town Lingayen at the suggestion of natives themselves due to a certain corpulent tamarind tree growing on the present town plaza at that time. The tree was exceptionally big, tall and spreading that the surrounding trees were just drafts in comparison. Passers-by developed that habit of looking back and back again at this corpulent tree until it would vanish from their rear vie. When they arrived home and were asked what way they took in returning they would simply say "through Liñgayen" (Lingayen). Since then up to the present time the town bears its name as Lingayen.
Lingayen Pangasinan is politically subdivided into 32 barangays.
  • • Aliwekwek
  • • Baay
  • • Balangobong
  • • Balococ
  • • Bantayan
  • • Basing
  • • Capandanan
  • • Domalandan Center
  • • Domalandan East
  • • Domalandan West
  • • Dorongan
  • • Dulag
  • • Estanza
  • • Lasip
  • • Libsong East

  • • Libsong West
  • • Malawa
  • • Malimpuec
  • • Maniboc
  • • Matalava
  • • Naguelguel
  • • Namolan
  • • Pangapisan North
  • • Pangapisan Sur
  • • Poblacion (capital barangay of Lingayen
  • • Quibaol
  • • Rosario
  • • Sabangan
  • • Talogtog
  • • Tonton
  • • Tumbar
  • • Wawa



2010 Election Results - Lingayen Pangasinan

Last may 2010, Filipino experience the first ever automated election here in Philippines.This is a very significant milestone in our country’s history given those long years of tedious manual election process that not only gives burden to our teachers and volunteers, but has also left doubtful and questionable election results.

Through the PCOS (Precinct Count Optical Scan System) machine, an automatic counting of votes will take place. This won’t only make the task of our teachers lighter, but would also lessen massive cheating during election.

The Municipal Board of Canvassers of Lingayen has proclaimed the following winners of the 10 May 2010 elections after canvassing.

The picture above represents the newly/re- elected officials of Lingayen Pangasinan. As you can see in the picture, the position, name,and the number of votes earned of every officials are indicated.

Congratulations to all newly elected/re-elected municipal officials!